Uncategorized

#BeforeISayIDo #BookReview @vbradlewriter @annecater @simonschusterUK #RandomThingsTours ๐Ÿ’ซ Out 28th of May ๐Ÿ’ซ

๐Ÿ“š Synopsis ๐Ÿ“š

Itโ€™s Juliaโ€™s wedding day. Her nerves are to be expected โ€“ every bride feels the same โ€“ but thereโ€™s another layer to her fear, one that she cannot explain to her soon-to-be husband, Mark. Sheโ€™s never told him the details โ€“ and she is determined he never finds out.

As she begins down the aisle, spotting Mark in his tailored suit, she knows she is taking her first steps to happiness โ€“ her past is behind her, it canโ€™t catch her now. Mark turns to face her . . .

But it isnโ€™t Mark in the beautiful suit โ€“ itโ€™s his best man.

Because Mark is missing.  

And Juliaโ€™s past is closer than she thinks . . .

Perfect for fans of Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll and Now You See Her by Heidi Perks, this is a dark, twisty psychological thriller that asks the question, how well can you really know anyone?

๐Ÿ’ญ My Thoughts ๐Ÿ’ญ

This is an amazing debut novel by Vicki Bradley. She is currently taking a break from her career as a detective constable to concentrate on writing, and her experience in the police force comes through in spades within this story.

Before I Say I Do is told through two points of view. That of Julia Talbot, the bride. And Alanna Loxton the police officer. Both are fantastic female characters, that are written so well. It’s Julia’s wedding day and she’s full of excitement and enthusiasm for the day ahead. But, even as she speaks there’s just a hint that Julia is hiding something.

When she turns up to the service, all is not as it should be. Mark, her groom is missing. Has he had cold feet? Is he just late? Or is there something more sinister? Well, it’s a psychological thriller, so the latter is obviously the conclusion. Julia and Alanna are desperate to uncover the truth.

Bradley sure knows how to ramp up the tension, the start of this book is very sedate compared to the rest of the action packed narrative. Once Mark goes missing and the investigation starts to open up questions. This is when we get to see that maybe Julia isn’t all that she seems to be. Interspersed in the story is past narrative of a murdered young girl. Are these two stories connected? The way Bradley has weaved this mystery is just genius. I was second guessing myself all the way. Even when I thought I had it sussed out, along came a twist to make me gasp out loud.

Can I just add here that I hope there are more books featuring Alanna Loxton in the pipeline. The chemistry between her and her partner needs to be developed further, and of course they need a juicy investigation to deal with maybe involving a leak ๐Ÿ˜‰

Before I Say I Do is a breathtaking and impressive debut novel. A story full of mystery that will have you turning those pages quickly.

Can I thank Anne for my spot on this blog tour (and, also apologies for my massive error about dates, I’m a day late posting this)


Thank you to the publishers for my gifted copy. And, lastly to Vicki. Best wishes in your new venture and I hope you have more Loxton stories in your locker ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

โœ๐Ÿผ About The Author โœ๐Ÿผ

Vicki Bradley is the author of the psychological thriller, BEFORE I SAY I DO, published 28th May 2020.

She completed a Creative Writing Novel MA at City University of London in 2016. She won the Write Here Right Now competition 2018, came 3rd place in the First Novel Prize, and has been shortlisted for the Virago New Crime Writer and Peter Fraser Dunlop prize with her debut novel BEFORE I SAY I DO.

Vicki is a detective constable in the Metropolitan Police Service and has had a varied career as a uniformed response driver in Brent and then as a detective in Southwark CID. She has managed High-Risk Sex Offenders and worked on the Serious Organised Crime Command. She is currently on a 5-year career break while she focuses on writing.

1 thought on “#BeforeISayIDo #BookReview @vbradlewriter @annecater @simonschusterUK #RandomThingsTours ๐Ÿ’ซ Out 28th of May ๐Ÿ’ซ”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.