Uncategorized

#BlogTour: Firewatching by Russ Thomas @thevoiceofruss @simonschusterUK @annecater #Firewatching #RussThomas #RandomThingsTours

Book Synopsis:
ONE WRONG MOVE
A body is found bricked into the walls of a house. From the state of the hands, it’s clear the dead man was buried alive. Soon, the victim is linked to an old missing person’s case and DS Adam Tyler is called.


WILL IGNITE
As the sole representative of South Yorkshire’s Cold Case Review Unit, Tyler recognises his role for what it is – a means of keeping him out of the way following an ‘incident’. When this case falls in his lap, he grabs the opportunity to fix his stagnating career.


THE CITY
And then Tyler discovers he has a connection to the case that hopelessly compromises him. He makes the snap decision not to tell his superiors, certain that he and only he can solve the crime. But now Tyler must move carefully to find out the truth, without destroying the case or himself.

Meanwhile, someone in the city knows exactly what happened to the body. Someone who is watching Adam closely. Someone with an unhealthy affinity with fire. . .

A taut investigative thriller bursting with character and tension, introducing an enigmatic, fresh lead detective unlike any you have met before – Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler – for fans of Adrian McKinty, Tana French, Steve Cavanagh and Sharon Bolton.

Firewatching is published in ebook and hardback on the 20th February 2020.

✨My Thoughts ✨

Wow!! For a debut novel this is truly fantastic. A work of genius. I loved this book. Definitely a five star rating from me.

What’s so genius about it? Well let me tell you.

Firstly, the characters are on point. We have the troubled DS Adam Tyler, he has got a bit of a hard backstory. But, this is what makes him a great detective. He’s not hot on keeping out of trouble though, getting it on with the prime suspect in the case he’s working on might not be a great idea. But, it works wonders for the plotline and to build his character up.

Tyler’s team that he works with are a great combination of excellent characters. I particularly had a soft spot for Doggett, he was straight to the point no messing. In contrast we have Rabbanni, quite timid and not yet full of bravado that some of her team have. But, with all the different personalities it makes for the dream team.

This story was full of mystery. It had me guessing throughout who the Firewatcher was, and what was the motive. The use of blog posts was very current, I also learnt a lot from them. Even the little comments added on at the end of each blog post was a spot of genius. Showing how the world works today, how people will jump on the bandwagon despite not knowing the full picture. Like lambs to the slaughter.

I hope there will be many more cases for Tyler and his team to solve in the future. I’ll definitely be reading them.

Thank you to Anne for my spot on the blog tour. Thanks to the publishers for my gifted copy. And thanks to Russ for an amazing story that kept me gripped throughout.

Russ Thomas was born in Essex, raised in Berkshire and now lives in Sheffield. He grew up in the 80s reading anything he could get from the library, writing stories, watching large amounts of television, playing videogames, and largely avoiding the great outdoors. He spent five years trying to master playing the electronic organ and another five trying to learn Spanish. It didn’t take him too long to realise that he’d be better off sticking to the writing. After a few ‘proper’ jobs (among them: pot-washer, optician’s receptionist, supermarket warehouse operative, call-centre telephonist and storage salesman) he discovered the joys of bookselling, where he could talk to people about books all day. ​ His debut novel Firewatching is the first book in the D/S Adam Tyler series.

dav


1 thought on “#BlogTour: Firewatching by Russ Thomas @thevoiceofruss @simonschusterUK @annecater #Firewatching #RussThomas #RandomThingsTours”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.