Uncategorized

Book Review The Flower Arranger by JJ Ellis #TheFlowerArranger @AgoraBooksLDN #BlogTour Publication Date September 26th

Description:

And now he knew what was wrong with the arrangement. It was the Ma… the negative space… There was only one thing beautiful enough to fill it and — finally — she was with him. Ready, if not willing, to play her role.


Holly Blain wants to cover real news. The entertainment beat — pop stars and teen trends — was not why she moved to Tokyo. When she meets Inspector Tetsu Tanaka, head of Tokyo’s Metropolitan Police’s Gaikoku-jin unit, it might just be her big break.


Tanaka isn’t so sure. Always one to do things by the book, he’s hesitant about bringing this headstrong reporter into his carefully controlled investigation.
But young women keep disappearing and Tanaka is given no choice. He and Blain must trust each other if they are to stop a tormented killer from bringing his twisted plan to its shocking conclusion.
Filled with twists and turns, this unforgettable thriller is JJ Ellis’ first novel.

go take a look at the rest of the reviews

My Thoughts:

As debut novels go this one is fantastic. This is a mysterious thriller set in Japan, fronted by the characters Holly Blain and Tetsu Tanaka and featuring a very artistic serial killer.


Ellis really shows off their knowledge of Japan in this story, we get a true understanding of the culture, fashion, people and scenery. I enjoyed discovering new facts and trivia about the place. There was a few Japanese words and phrases thrown in (Google came in handy for me here) at first this did seem to annoy me, but, as the story went on it felt natural and was a nice added feature.

The story is a crime thriller and perfect for fans of Tana French, Jeffrey Deaver and Keigo Higashino. We get to delve into Tokyo’s seedy underground behaviour, which shocked me at times especially at the use of younger girls. But, to balance things out we also get to learn about beautiful flowers and their simplicity. Although, even this turns sinister during the book.


This is the first novel in a major new series following journalist Holly Blain and detective Tetsu Tanaka. I am looking forward for their next adventure already. The relationship between these two is a good combination, at first they both clash wanting to out-do each other and being a hindrance to each others goals. However, as the story develops so does their relationship and they gain respect for one another. I found it charming how Tetsu sees Holly as the daughter he lost, and this bonds their partnership and allows for further greater things.


It’s not everyday that I sympathise with a serial killer, but the author managed to get me to feel sorry for the murderer in this story. When we discover the motive behind their crimes it gave me an understanding into why they wanted to carry out such heinous crimes.


Between all three characters they have a common thread, something that has happened to them in their lives. The story shows how it can affect each in a different way.


I urge you all to buy this book as it’s a fantastic read and it will keep you gripped till the climactic reveal.
Thank you to @AgoraBooksLDN for allowing me to be part of the Blog Tour and gifting me an ARC copy in exchange of an honest review.

Links to Buy

https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-flower-arranger/jj-ellis/9781911295815

4 thoughts on “Book Review The Flower Arranger by JJ Ellis #TheFlowerArranger @AgoraBooksLDN #BlogTour Publication Date September 26th”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.